The Trust, as a company, enters into a funding agreement with the Secretary of State and is legally responsible both to the Secretary of State and to parents and pupils for the running of its academies. It has a three-tier governing structure made up of Members, Directors and the Local Governing Body.

As a Member, functions include:

  • Overseeing the achievement of the objectives of the company
  • Taking part in annual and extraordinary general meetings
  • Appointing governors
  • Signing off the company’s financial accounts and annual report
  • Power to amend the Articles of the company and, ultimately, to remove governors/directors

The Members are:

  • Professor Mary Stuart
  • Professor Toby Wilkinson
  • Mr Simon Parkes
  • Mr Roger Buttery
  • Mr Mark Tinsley

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (or Trustees) is the overarching body that has overall responsibility for running the multiple academies. Their purpose is three-fold: setting the direction of the Trust, holding the Headteachers/Principals to account, and ensuring financial probity. The Directors set the strategic direction for the Trust and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of the academies within it. The Directors will most likely delegate the day-to-day running of the schools to the Local Governing Body of each Academy via a scheme of delegation. However, the Directors must still comply with duties under both charity and company law.

The Lincolnshire Educational Trust Ltd Board of Directors comprises:

  • Professor Toby Wilkinson (Chair)
  • Professor Val Braybrooks
  • Professor Ian Abrahams
  • Mr Will Naylor
  • Dr Edward Libbey
  • Mr Keith Batty
  • Professor Scott Davidson
  • Mr Andy Robinson
  • Ms Michelle Allison

Each school has its own Local or Academy Governing Body.

The Academy Governing Body

An Academy Governing Body (AGB) is formed for each of the schools. The governors will be delegated certain functions through a scheme of delegation enabling each governor to understand his/her role and responsibility within the academy. However, the Directors remain accountable for these functions.

The Academies

  • University Academy Holbeach
  • Holbeach Primary Academy
  • Gosberton House Academy
  • Holbeach Bank Academy
  • University Academy Long Sutton

The Academy Committees

In addition to the Trust, there is a Committee for each of the Academies. The Committees operate much as an individual school governing body would. Where the Trust is responsible for the overarching strategic direction of the Federation as a whole, the Committee works on a more day-to-day basis with the Senior Leadership Team (SLT) of the Academy.