Meet our Members

Neal Juster is Vice-Chancellor of the University of Lincoln. He is a graduate of the University of Leeds where he obtained a BSc in Mechanical Engineering and a PhD in Computer Aided Design

Neal has extensive experience in University Management: He was Senior Vice-Principal and Deputy Vice Chancellor at the University of Glasgow having been initially appointed as Vice-Principal (Strategy & Resources).  Previously he was Pro Vice-Principal, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Head of Department in the Department of Design, Manufacture and Engineering Management at the University of Strathclyde and Senior Lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Leeds. His research interests were in the broad area of computer aided design including rapid prototyping and use of virtual reality in design and manufacturing processes.

Neal a Fellow of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE) and a member of the QAA Advisory Committee on Degree Awarding Powers

He is a Director of UL Learning Resources Ltd, Riseholme Park Farms Ltd, ULEX and UoL Services Ltd. His is also Chair of the Members Committee for the University of Lincoln Academy Trust.

Professor Andrew Hunter is Deputy Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Mathematics and Computing and a PhD in Computer Graphics, both from the University of Bath. Andrew worked for several years in the software industry before returning to academia, teaching Computer Science at Sunderland and Durham Universities.

He joined the University of Lincoln in 2004, previously holding roles as Head of Department of Computing, Dean of Research, and Pro Vice Chancellor and Head of the College of Science. Professor Hunter specialises in computer vision and machine learning, with a particular interest in retinal imaging and behavioural analysis. He has published over 100 academic papers, and has developed freeware and commercial artificial intelligence software packages.

Deputy Vice Chancellor (Finance & Infrastructure) at the University of Lincoln. His role is to ensure that the University operates from an inspiring, efficient and well-maintained estate; that the services for staff and students on the campus work effectively and that the University is financially secure. Simon came to the University because he believed that universities can transform the lives of students and communities and, in particular, the University of Lincoln’s values in widening participation, creating opportunity and contribution to the local economy match his own. Simon was originally an Accountant and has served in both the Royal Air Force and the Army.

Mark graduated from London University and worked for 7 years as a manager of a complex farming business with a packing house supplying both Marks & Spencer and Sainsbury. Following this Mark returned home to farm and is still there on 600 hectacres farming potatoes, vegetables and cereals.

Mark has been either a Chairman or Director of a number of Food and Farming businesses and on the Board of the NFU Mutual and the Greater Lincolnshire LEP. Mark was previously a member of a government commission looking at sustainable food and farming and helped set up the Red Tractor Scheme and chaired the Oxford Farming Conference. Mark also spend a period of time on the governing body of Ayscoughfee Hall School.

Mark enjoys all sport, studying the natural environment and reading good books.

Diana Meale was a Governor of the University of Lincoln until 2019 and is very supportive of the University’s ambitions to widen participation in higher education by people living in areas where that is not the norm. She pursues this interest as a County Councillor representing Mansfield West in Nottinghamshire which is an area partly characterised as having a low educational attainment.

She has a belief in the ability of the arts and theatre to inform and transform and has a long association with the New Perspectives rural touring company. She is a member of the Midlands Arts Council.

Professionally Diana holds degrees in economics and has an MBA. Until 2011 she was the Executive Director for Regeneration at the East Midlands Development Agency following a career as an economist in the private and not for profit sectors.



Members have a similar role to that of shareholders of a company limited by shares and in this case they are the sponsors of the Trust.

  • They are the subscribers to the trust’s memorandum of association (where they are founding members) and may amend the articles of association subject to any restrictions in the articles, the funding agreement or charity law. The members must approve any new funding agreement and they reserve the right to approve or otherwise any decisions related to new schools or academies joining the Trust

  • They appoint and remove their own members. They appoint and remove Trustees including the Chair and may, by special resolution, issue direction to the trustees to take a specific action
  • They appoint the trust’s auditors and receive the trust’s audited annual accounts.
  • They have power to change the name of the company and, ultimately, wind up the academy trust.

University of Lincoln Academy Trust has five members with three members being University employees and two members being independent. There are no lengths to the term of office. No employee of the Trust is a member. Members will normally meet a minimum of three times a year. The Governance Professional to the Trust Board will clerk Members meetings; minutes are not published.