University of Lincoln Academy Trust

  • SearchSearch Site
  • Translate Translate Page

Governing Committees

Academy Governing Committees

The Academy Governing Committees are a key part of the Trust and to help the management of these committees there is a Chair of Governors Committee, which is chaired by the CEO. It will be consulted on any key issues, so chairs are well informed of changes. 

Governors form the Academy Governing Committee (AGC) for each academy. An AGC is a committee of the Trust and has oversight of the functions of academies as delegated to them by Board of Trustees (no Trustees serve on an AGC). The terms of office initially for a 4-year period, with the opportunity to serve for a second 4-year period.

Membership will include the Principal (who is ex officio), two parents and two staff. The Vice Principal is expected to attend in an observer capacity, with no voting rights. The CEO  will usually be governor to support the key monitoring of pupils’ performance role, but also to provide a link between the Board of Trustees and AGCs.

An AGC is quorate when 51% of the membership is present.

It is important that an AGC has the appropriate skills mix to be able to fulfil its delegated functions. Trustees will ensure each AGC has the right skill set through its biennial skills audit of Governors. An AGC will usually meet five times per year, as determined by the CEO. The Principal is responsible for setting the agenda in line with the framework and discussions with the CEO. The Chair can also add items to the agenda in discussion with the Principal.

Decisions between meetings can be arrived at through electronic means with the approval of the Chair and CEO and providing at least 51% of the AGC contribute to the decision. 

Two training sessions for Governors will be held during the year and this training will be for all governors. It will include guidance and training on safeguarding. All Governors must have an enhanced DBS (Disclosure & Barring Service) and a S128 direction check, which identifies whether someone is barred from management or governance.

It is important that Governors feel free to make visits to the academy, and the AGC's governance professional must ensure there is a record of these visits.

The terms of reference for an Academy Governing Committee are:

 Ensuring the Academy is working to its ethos, within the Mission and Values of the Trust.

  • Holding the Principal and senior staff to account for the educational performance of the Academy, ensuring that young people  have a high quality and relevant curriculum, with all abilities appropriate resources.
  • Ensuring its meeting all the relevant safeguarding regulations and creating supportive environment for its children and young people to learn.
  • Overseeing the financial performance, ensuring good value for money and buildings and facilities are safe and fit for purpose.
  • Overseeing and providing governor in-put into the academy’s key plans and policies.

The fundamental aspect of AGC governance is agreeing the curriculum framework and focusing upon pupil progress; including special groups, such as Pupil Premium and SEND pupils. These areas must constitute at least 50% of an AGC meeting, providing governors with ample opportunity to question and challenge the success, or otherwise of the academy’s performance. Scrutiny and monitoring of key plans developed by an academy is part of that focus.

The Chair of an AGC, along with the CEO and Principal will agree a lead governor for each area; Safeguarding and Child Protection, Attendance and Behaviour, SEND and Pupil Premium. HPA & HBA will have an additional lead governor for Early Years. The Principal and AGC can use other named governors for specific areas. These non-executive governors will work with the senior member of staff and will jointly provide feedback to the Board of Trustees.

There is a need for a formal vote to agree the minutes and approval of any policies and plans. If there is significant disagreement by an AGC on a key piece of academy work, then the Chair should note the strong differences and refer the matter to the CEO, who will them arrange for Trustees to make the final decision. There is a need for the clear sequencing of work at an AGC, to enable reports to collectively feed into the Board of Trustees, in a timely and effective manner.

Academy Governing Committee Membership

University Academy Holbeach

Chair: Gary Chappell [2024]

Principal: Sheila Paige

 Steve Baragwanath (CEO) Alan Ward (Community Governor) [2024]
Susan Boor (Community Governor)[2024] Nicola Furnell (Parent Governor)[2024]
Rick Gibbard (Community Governor)[2024] Louise Stanton (Trust Governor (SEND))[2024]
Gillian Ross (Community Governor)[2024] Ellie Davison (Sponsor Governor)[2024]

Observer: Donna Allen (Vice Principal)

Governance Professional: Sharon Earth & Hannah Waller

Holbeach Primary Academy and Holbeach Bank Academy

Chair: Jenny Worth [2024]

Executive Principal: Susan Boor (Director of Primary Education)

Steve Baragwanath (CEO) 

Stacy Clayton (Staff Governor) [2024]
Clive Turner (Community Governor)[2027] Darran Fiddler (Staff Governor) [2024]
Maggie Ward (Community Governor) [2024] Dr Alison Smith (Sponsor Governor)[2025]
Paul Squire (Trust Governor) [2024]

 Observer: Nicola Kenyon (Executive Vice Principal)

Governance Professional: Sue Tully

Gosberton House Academy

Chair: Jonny Boor [2025]

Principal: Katharine Saywell 

Steve Baragwanath (CEO) Emma Fawcett (Trust Governor) [2024]
Sajda Andleeb (Parent Governor) [2024] Louise Stanton (Trust Governor) [2025]
Anna Littlecott (Parent Governor) [2024] Dr Lesley Allinson (Sponsor Governor)[2025]
Vicky Edwards (Staff Governor)[2024] Dr Niko Kargas (Sponsor Governor)[2025]
Rebecca Daw (Trust Governor) [2025]

 Observer: Paul Squire (Vice Principal)

 Governance Professional: Rachael Wainwright

University Academy Long Sutton

 Chair: Andrew Everard [2027]

 Principal: Liam Davé

Steve Baragwanath (CEO) Julie Oliver (Parent Governor)[2027]
Gary Chappell (Community Governor) [2027] Stuart Morrow (Staff Governor) [2027]
Derek O’Sullivan (Community Governor) [2027] Michelle Papworth (Staff Governor) [2027]
Gillian Ross (Community Governor)[2027] Nicola Kenyon (Trust Governor)[2027]

Observer: Simon Gillman (Vice Principal)

Governance Professional: Ellie Carter

Monkshouse Primary Academy

 Chair:  Lisa Leyland

 Principal: Sue Goodsell 

Steve Baragwanath (CEO) Anna Smolen (Community Governor)[2027]
Paula Baker (Community Governor)[2027] Jennifer Tyrie (Parent Governor)[2027]
Jo Graves (Community Governor)[2027] Jordan Green (Parent Governor)[2027]
Richard Hayes (Community Governor)[2027] Lucy Jarvis (Staff Governor)[2027]
Eileen Robson (Community Governor)[2027]

 Observer: Hannah Turner (Vice Principal)

 Governance Professional: Jo Ingle

Wrangle Primary Academy

 Chair: Stuart Pinchbeck [2028]

 Principal: Tiffany Hebron

Steve Baragwanath (CEO) George Henry Danby (Partnership Governor) [2028]
Peter Stefan Baker (Parent Governor) [2028] Linda Anita Britchford (Local Authority Governor) [2028]
Michael James Litchfield (Parent Governor) [2028] Rachael Young (Staff Governor) [2008]

 Governance Professional: Carole Rodgers